תמונות בעמוד
PDF
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

nevolent gentleman, in his last will, dated 1657, left, in the hands of

Theophilus Eaton, Esq. and three others, a legacy of £,.1324, * as an encouragement, in these foreign plantations, of breeding up hopeful youths both at the grammar-school and college.' In 1664, this legacy was equal jy divided between New-Haven and Hartford; and grammar-schools were erected, which have been supported ever since.

At Greenfield there is a respectable academy, under the care and instruction of the Rev. Dr. Dwight. At Plainfield is another, under the care of the Rev. Mr. Benedict. This academy has flourished for several years, and furnished a number of students for Yale and Dartmouth colleges. At Norwich and Windham, likewise, are academies furnished with able instructors; each of these academies have fixty or fevents scholars.

YALE COLLEGE was founded in 1700, and remained at Killingworth until 1-07-then at Saybrook, until 1716, when it was removed and fix. ed at New-Haven. Among its principal benefactors was governor Yale. in honor of whom, in 1718, it was named YALE COLLEGE, Its first building was erected in 1717, being 170 feet in length, and 22 in breadth, built of wood. This was taken down in 1782. The present college edifice, which is of brick, was built in 1750, under the direction of the Rev. President Clap, and is 100 feet long, and 40 feet wide, three ftories high, and contains ihirty-two chambers, and sixty-four studies, convenient for the reception of a hundred students. The college chapel, u hich is also of brick, was built in 1961, being fifty feet by forty, with a steeple 125 feet high. In this building is the public library, confifting of about 2500 volumes; and the philofophical apparatus, which is at present incomplete. It contains, however, the principal machines necessary for exhibiting most of the experiinents in the whole course of experimental philosophy and astronomy. The sum of £.300, collected by subscriptions, is now in readiness to be expended in the purchase of such other inftruments and machines, as will render the philofophical apparatus complete.

The college museum, to which additions are constantly making, contains some great natural curiofities.

This literary infticution was incorporated by the general assembly of Connecticut. The first charter of incorporation was granted to eleven ministers, under the denomination of trustees, 1901. The powers of the truflees were enlarged by the additional charter, 1723. And by that of 1945, the truitecs were incorporated by the name of · The President and Fellow's of Yale college, New-Haven.' The corporation are empowered to hold estates, continue their fuccesiion, make academic laws, elect and conftitute all officers of instruction and government, usual in universities, and confér all learned degrees. The ordinary executive government is in the hands of the president and tutors. The present officers of the college are, a president, who is also professor of ecclefiaftical history, a profefior of divinity, and thrie tutors. The number of students for several years rast has been from 150 to 250, divided into four clafles. The present nuinber is about 140. It is worthy of remark, that as many as five-fixths of those who have received their educations at this university, wese natives of Connecticut.

In 1732, the Rev. George Berkley, D. D. then dean of Derry, and afterwarus bishop of Clo; ne, in Ireland, made a generous donation of 880

volunes

[ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed]

* In Connecticut, horses, horned cattle, improved and unimproved land, bo:ifes, shipping, all forts of riding carriages, clocks and watches, filver plate and money at intereft, are rateable estate. All males between fixteen and seventy years of age, unless exempted by law, are fubjects of taxatijn.

[ocr errors]
« הקודםהמשך »