תמונות בעמוד
PDF
ePub

and all the names occuring in it that can possibly be of foreign origin are also given below. It is almost needless to

say

that the orthography of the names, like that of all similar lists, is very incorrect.

[ocr errors]

1. 50 40 24 20 20 36 12 12

...

20

...

...

...

( First List).
To Lucrece de Chavernay

Claude Davennes
Mary and Anne la Borde
Catherine & Mary Dhubac
Isabeau de Brasselay
Henriette de Hautecharmoy
Judith de Bruggire
Elizabeth Vebron
Mary Bondon
Mary Jolly de Chadignac
Mary Verveillon
Elizabeth Hauteclair
Charlotte & Mary Malleray
Blanche Tournier
Louise & Aimee Lamaugere
Mary Berault
Jeanne de Sussac
Mary & Sille Dumont ...
Louise de Launay
Francois and John Marioge
Susanne de Culan St. Meme
Anne Benigne Disgrouais
Charlotte Montguion
Susanne le Cercle
Charlotte Pommeau
Mary de Champagne
Mary & Catherine Laferriere
Henriette & Mary Louvigny
Judith Beconne
Esther, Mary & Susanne Champlaurier
Mary & Susanne Bette...

] Falquerolles

į Pasquet
Anne Gabrielle de Montmillan
Angelique Doudar
Francoise Sarrette
Mary Dubreville
Mary Jouneau
Mary Chabannes
Ester & Lucrece Longuevergne
Madelaine de Touchimbert
Madeleine Dornaunt
Andre Pierre & Anne Henritte Laprimauday
Elizabeth & Catherine Tourton
Susanne la Pennotiere
Mary St. Faussevicouse
Susanne Marolles
Emeraud le Grand
Martha Dollon
Susanne de Serrieres
Mary de Rozel
Helenne & Margarite Marancin...

12 12 25 24 25 30 12 12 30 20 15 12 15 15 15 12 40 24 30 15 24 20 12

6 15 12 12 12 10 12

20

18 18 13 33

12 12

:::::::::

30 18 12 40

[ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

(Second List).
To be inserted in a Warrant from Midsummer 1703.

p. ann.
Anne Donavant

22 [ ] Persoode

100
Oliver de la Muce, Esqr

150
Peter de la Touche
John Lauze

50
Oswald Fawne

18 Eliza Duke

4 Anne Gournay

50

...

20

To be inserted, but the time of Commencement not fixed.

Isaac Graffart .. 40 To have these summes once
Jacob Vinck ... 40

& no more.

}

V.

THE FRENCH CHURCH OF WAPPING.

[ocr errors]

In the valuable paper contributed by Baron de Schickler to the first volume of our Proceedings on Les Eglises Françaises de Londres après la Révocation' the church of Wapping is placed amongst those of which the history is said to be 'très obscur,' in fact the only reference to it is a statement that it was 'alliée à la Tremblade dès son origine' which is assigned to the year 1701. So far our knowledge of this church is but little advanced; still we have printed a few notices of it and

[ocr errors]

6

[ocr errors]

will have one

or two more in future numbers of the Proceedings.

Burn' knew very little about it. Indeed he says—'Query, if in Long Hedge Lane.' This we have already shown, was not so, for the Church of Long Hedge Lane, Spitalfields,' was the one known sometimes as that of Black Eagle Street,' but more generally as “L'Hôpital,

' a chapel of ease to the overcrowded church of Threadneedle Street. He also says the exact situation is not discovered, but the extracts from Maitland's History of London, (published in 1739), which we printed some little

time ago,' would seem to show that it was in Milk Alley. From a map in Strype's edition of Stow's Survey this appears to have been situated near Wapping Old Stairs, lying at right angles to the river, on the west side of the parish church of St. John, and in close proximity to it, and possibly the registers of this church may contain entries relating to the French congregation, especially amongst the marriages and burials.

In fact the only information furnished by Burn in his account of this church is the following list of ministers who officiated in it. Charles L'Astre

1711.
de La Prade

1716.
Peter Henry de Gaujeace
Francis Beaupin

1742.
Jean Le Mounier

1747. There being no authorities named for this list we have as yet no means of checking it, but the M. de La Prade mentioned is no doubt the minister who, we have shown," founded the church some four years before 1706 when he was still officiating; it is possible, therefore, that the date assigned to him by Burn is incorrect. A name not occurring in the list is that of Preleur the lecteur referred to in the list of annuities granted from the Royal Bounty fund in 1717.8

In his account of the 'Eglise de l'Artillerie,' however, Burno quotes part of the 'Sermon de Jubilé' preached on January 13, 1782, by Jacob Bourdillon, who had been pastor there from December 25, 1731. One of the passages in this runs

Foreign Protestant Refugees, p. 180. ? Proceedings, Vol. ii, p. 479 ; Vol. iii, p. 574. 3 Ibid., Vol. iii, p. 570.

* There was also a French church with this name in the west-in Milk Alley, Dean Street, Soho.- Ibid., Vol. i. p. 100. 6 Vol. ii, facing p. 37.

6 To this name is a foot note, – Died March, 1742. He was the last of the ministers who left France on the Revocation.'

7 Proceedings, Vol. ii, p. 253. 8 Ibid., Vol. i, p. 327. ' Foreign Protestant Refugees, pp. 162, 163.

1

a

8

[ocr errors]

as follows :

—Que de ravages n'ont point été faits ici, comme ailleurs, dans ce Jubilé de cinquante ans. Que de pasteurs enléves à leurs Troupeaux. Plus de cinquante deux ont terminé leur course parmi les Refugiés.' To this is appended a footnote (by Bourdillon) giving the names of these deceased pastors, those for Wapping being 'Gally de Gaujac, Le Beaupin, Say, Guyot, and Preleur,' two of whom, Say and Guyot, it will be observed were strangely overlooked by Burn in compiling the list printed above.

We now print from a volume of Exchequer records, preserved in the Public Record Office, a licence to officiate in this church granted to Engelbert Joseph Fezant in the year 1766, the latest mention of the church yet discovered. It may be something more than a coincidence that the Order of Council of 1706 concerning the church bears the name of 'Mr. Peasant” which looks like an attempt at translating the name of Fezant into English

It wiĩl be noticed that in both the earliest and this, the latest document respecting the church, the minister was licensed by the Bishop of London. At first the congregation was non-conformist, but in 1705 and 1706 it used the English liturgy translated into French, while the use of the title *Curate' in the document now printed would suggest that it still conformed to the English ritual in 1766.

Why this document should be recorded in the Exchequer is not clear, unless Fezant, like his predecessor de La Prade was in receipt of an annuity from the government. The recording

. of the licence in 1784, more than twelve years after its issue, is also suggestive.

Before concluding these remarks it may be pointed out that Dr. Reginald Lane Poole in referring to this church says the

' register runs from 1700 (or 1711?) to 1747,' upon what authority does not appear for no register is now known to exist, but possibly he took his extreme dates from Burn's list of ministers. He also states that the church is mentioned in Dubourdieu's Appeal to the English Nation (p. 56) published in the year 1718. Engelbert Joseph Richard, by Divine permission Bishop of Fezant.

}

London, to Our beloved in Christ, Engelbert Joseph Fezant, Clerk, Greeting, We do by these presents give & grant unto you, in whose Fidelity, Morals, Learning, &c., We do fully confide, Our Licence & Authority to perform the Office of a Curate in the French Chapel in Wapping, in the County of

* Exchequer of Receipt, Auditors' Patent Books, Vol. 40, p. 130. · Proceedings, Vol. ii, p. 255. 3 Huguenots of the Dispersion, p. 196.

Middlesex, &c., &c., &c.; In Witness whereof We have caused our Episcopal Seal, which in this case We use, to be heretofore (sic) affixed; dated the 12th Jan, 1776, & in the 12th year of Our Translation.

[ocr errors]
[blocks in formation]

Mr. Page has recently brought to light a considerable amount of information, hitherto strangely neglected, in his recently published work on denizations and naturalizations in England during the Tudor period. This important contribution to the history of foreign settlements in this country shows that though naturalization properly so called was only to be obtained by a private Act of Parliament, the ordinary method of an alien acquiring the privileges of a natural-born subject was either by letters patent issued direct from the Crown or by warrant from some one to whom the Crown had temporarily delegated its authority for this special purpose.

Mr. Page's book contains several instances of denizations granted in this manner to persons resident in the Channel Islands. The following copy of a document, however, in the possession of the Rev. Jean Lainé Le Pelley, Vicar of Ringland, Norwich, which may be compared with the examples printed by Mr. Page, shows that the local authorities of Guernsey at least issued letters of denization on their own responsibility.

Copie. A tous ceux que cest présente lettre Veront ou ouront louis de vic, Baillif De l'Isle de Guernesey pour la très Excellente Majesté de Notre Souveraine Dame Elizabeth, Raines d'Angleterre, france, & Irlande, &c., Salut en Dieu, Savoir faisens Que par devant nous, en la Ville de Saint Pierre port, en la ditte Isle de Guernesey, le 26eme jour du mois d'Oust, en l'An de grace de Mille cinq cents Nonante & Un, & en présence de John Blondel & John Andros, jurés de la Court de Notre Dame la Raine en la ditte Isle, comparus personellement par devant nous, Savoir est, John Lainé, Natif des partis de Normandis, lequel humblement nous suplia qu'il nous

« הקודםהמשך »