« הקודםהמשך »
1596, and completed on the 29th of September, 1599. The building is rather what we should call an alms-house than an hospital, and was so from the first, but in olden times the word "hospital” had not its present signification. The building is picturesque, though not architecturally remarkable. The chapel is certainly curious. It retains its ancient benches; the “standards” are about 6 ft. high, but there are no backs to the seats, so what was the object of very tall bench-ends is difficult to conjecture. There is no altar or communion-table, but there are several curious pictures. A portrait of Whitgift is at the west end, and one, representing a lady in a ruff, on the north side, though it is not certain whether it represents Whitgift's daughter or his niece. The courtyard is very pleasant, and the hall is a fine old room. It is to be hoped that some way will be found of saving this venerable building from destruction, notwithstanding that its site is the very centre of the town."
The Editor received the following account of a most reprehensible piece of vandalism from Frederick Challoner, Esq., Northumberlaud and Northern Counties Club, London, S.W., just as the Journal was going to press; and he desires to draw the attention of members, especially those who belong to Yorkshire, to it, that action may be taken, with a view to preserving the ruins, if possible, before it is too late :
Vandalism at Byland Abbey.—Mr. W. A. Russell writes from 17, Marlborough Road, Bradford ;
“I desire to call public attention to an act of vandalism. Quarrying in the ruins of our abbeys is not, as might have been supposed, a thing of the past. On Monday I visited Byland Abbey, near Coxwold, in the North Riding of Yorkshire (once the home of Tristram Shandy). Byland, which is the largest original Cistercian house in England, is in a very neglected condition ; the outside wal which show some beautiful features of design, are still standing, but the interior is filled with mounds of ruins. These mounds have quite recently been opened, but not for purposes of research. A mason's shed has been erected against the wall of the north transept for the dressing' of the stones, which-if any other testimony than the mason's shed were necessary--are, on the authority of the nearest neighbour to the abbey, to be used for building purposes. The excavations have disclosed beautiful and very complete sections of shafts, as well as carved capitals and pillar bases, etc. The idea of these being reduced from beautiful examples of early English carving to mere blocks of building stone is too dreadful to contemplate; and it is to be hoped that all societies and others who take an interest iu the prese ution of our ancient buildings will raise an emphatic protest against the spoliation of a fine old ruin.”
Born February 29th, 1821 ; died April 2nd, 1900. Mr. Wright was educated at University College, London ; and when the writer of this notice first knew him he was connected with the publishing world, which brought him into connection with many celebrated men of letters now passed away. Mr. Wright possessed considerable literary ability, and was a contributor to the press for many years; so recently as last year, an article from his pen upon“ Wireless Telegraphy” was published in the Times. In his younger days he wrote several dramatic pieces of considerable merit, which were performed privately. He also wrote Local Lays and Legends in 1885, and Historic Fragments in 1887. Each work on publication commanded attention, and was perused with interest. Possessing a genial temperament and a fund of wit and humour, Mr. Wright was always a welcome and popular member of society, and numbered among bis large circle of friends and acquaintances such familiar names as J. R. Planché, George Godwin, J. 0. Halliwell Phillipps, Albert Way, George Cruiksbank, Crofton Croker, T. J. Pettigrew, Thomas Wright, Chas. Roach Smith, Lord Albert Conyngham, the first President of the British Archæological Association, Lord Houghton, Lord Carnarvon, and many others, all of whom have predeceased him. In 1864 Mr. Wright was mainly instrumental in founding the Junior Athenæum Club in Piccadilly, of which he was for some time secretary and became a life-member. That wandering body of archaeologists known as the “Leland Club ” was the outcome of his fertile brain, and under his guidance and direction the members enjoyed for a long period annually several weeks of most agreeable touring to places of historical and archæological interest in the United Kingdom, and occasionally upon the Continent. It is, however, in connection with the British Archeological Association that Mr. Wright will probably be best remembered. He was a member of the Association from its foundation in 1843, and was until quite recent years, when failing powers caused his withdrawal from active interest in its proceedings, always an enthusiastic and most warm supporter of the objects and work of the Association. He was rarely absent from any of the meetings, either of the Council or of the public evening meetings in Sackville Street, at which he made many interesting exhibitions. Mr. Wright was appointed Curator and Librarian in 1855, upon the decease of Mr. Alfred White; and in May, 1857, he was elected a F.S.A. ; and in 1887 became a Vice-President of the Association he had done so much to foster and encourage. By those associates who have been accustomed, year after year, to attend the Congresses in different parts of the Kingdom, Mr. Wright will be greatly missed, and will always be gratefully remembered. For many years he undertook and most efficiently carried out the very arduous duties of Congress Secretary, including all the arrangements for the comfort and convenience of the visitors and their travelling facilities. It will be within the recollection of many with what tact, energy, and never-failing good humour he conducted the business of the Congresses, and how genially he overcame any unexpected contretemps when it arose, and succeeded in maintaining harmony and good fellowship. Mr. Wright possessed in an uncommon degree the ability to discern indi. vidual character, and during the Congresses always sought opportunities of bringing together those whose tastes and studies were similar, or whose knowledge could be made available to further the objects of the meeting. His contributions to the Journal of the Association as well as his exhibits were very numerous; and from 1853 to 1890 scarcely a year passed without one or more papers from his pen, the extent of which may be seen in the Indices to the various volumes. His last years were spent in the quiet retirement of his home at Kew, in the society of his devoted wife and his numerous friends; and there he passed away on April 2nd, in his eightieth year, greatly regretted by all who knew him.
Those who were privileged to attend the York Congress will remember the very interesting account delivered on August 17, 1891, at the Conversazione in the Fine Art and Industrial Institution by this gentleman, entitled, “A Century in the King's Manor at York," which is printed with illustrations from Mr. Buckle's pencil on pp. 7-14 of vol. xlviii of our Journal, and will hear with regret of his death.
Mr. Buckle was superintendent of the Yorkshire School for the
Blind at York, perhaps better known as the Wilberforce School, which occupies a building rendered historic by its connection with Kings Henry VIJI, James I, and Charles I, and the latter's ill-fated servant, the Earl of Strafford.
Mr. Buckle was a native of Barden, in the parish of Hauxwell, where he was born in 1838, and was educated at the Corporation Schools, Richmond, Yorkshire. He then became an Assistant Master at the York Training College, and graduated B.A. of London University in 1865, and was appointed in 1869 to the Wilberforce Headmastership. He was a well-known authority on all matters affecting the education of the Blind. He was also a poet of considerable power.
Mr. Buckle died on May 27th, and was interred, with the deep respect of all who knew him, at the York Cemetery.
THE REV. SIR TALBOT HASTINGS BENDALL BAKER.
This gentleman gave his best services as an antiquary to the Royal Archæological Institute, of which he was a Vice-President; but as he was also a member of our Association, a few words respecting him are not out of place in our Journal.
He was the third baronet, and was born on September 9th, 1820. He graduated at Christ Church, Oxford, in 1843, and was ordained by the Bishop of Lichfield (Dr. Lonsdale) in 1844 to the curacy of Brewood, near Stafford. In 1848, the then Bishop of Salisbury (Bishop Denison) nominated him to the vicarage of Preston with SuttonPoyntz, which he held for 20 years, being, during part of the time, (1870-77), Rural Dean of Dorchester.
He took part in the Weymouth Congress in 1871, when he was a Vice-President and a member of the Local Committee. He conducted the Association on August 21st, 1871, to inspect the Roman pavement then recently uncovered at Preston, and the church. He was elected a member of the Association on November 22nd following, and subsequently contributed antiquarian exhibits on several occasions. He was also present at the London Congress in 1896, and at the Peterborough Congress in 1898.
The late Baronet died suddenly, in his sleep, at Ranston House, Blandford, Dorset, on April 6th last.