תמונות בעמוד
PDF
ePub

restored the grand west doorway in 1853. The restora tion of the church was judiciously carried out, at a cost of £5,000, under the supervision of Mr. Burges. The floor of the church was reduced to its original level ; the whitening and plaster were removed from the pillars and walls, and the hideous galleries which had also been erected during the eighteenth century on the west and south were taken away, and the second pillar from the east end on the south side was rebuilt.

The reredos, carved in stone and coloured, is the work of the late Mr. Nicholls, and was presented by a lady parishioner, together with the Holy Table and pulpit, at a cost of £1,500, in memory of her husband.

The glass in the Norman and Decorated windows is all modern : none of the old glass has been preserved; but it is interesting to notice that the famous east window of St. Margaret's, Westminster, originally belonged to Waltham, and was presented to this Abbey church by Henry VIII.

It has a most romantic history. Another painted window is mentioned by Dr. Fuller, the historian, who was incumbent here in 1648. It contained a representation of the pious founder, King Harold, and was destroyed by the Puritan soldiers during the Commonwealth as an idolatrous picture.

At the time of the Dissolution, there were forty-six tombs of abbots, earls, knights, and other notable persons. Among these were the tombs of King Harold, Hugh Neville, Lord Justice of England, and a favourite of King Richard I, and Robert Passelew, Archdeacon of Lewes, the favourite of Henry III. These monuments were destroyed when the choir was demolished, and the only remains at present existing are a fragment of Harold's tomb, a purbeck marble slab from an abbot's tomb, and the lid of a stone coffin, said to have been discovered in 1786, about 260 ft. from the present east end.

The oldest tomb now in existence is that of Sir Edward Denny, at the south-east corner of the chancel. This knight was the second son of Sir Anthony Denny, the favourite of Henry VIII, to whom that monarch granted the estates of the ancient monastery. Sir Edward was knighted by Queen Elizabeth for services

rendered in the suppression of a rebellion in Ireland. His effigy, and that of his wife-one of the Queen's ladies—appear on the tomb in a recumbent position, and their six sons and four daughters, kneeling, are represented below. He died in 1599, and his burial is recorded in the second volume of the Parish Registers, which were commenced in 1563.

The fragments inserted in the east wall, near the tomb, were discovered under the floor in 1859, and it is supposed that they formed part of the beautiful statuary in the Lady Chapel.

The effigy on the west of the tomb is that of Lady Greville, of Harold's Park Mansion, the last house in which King Harold slept before the fatal conflict with the Norman invader. She was a niece of Lord Gray, Duke of Suffolk, and the widow of Henry, the son and heir of Sir Anthony Denny. After the death of her first husband she married Sir Edward Greville. This figure was originally recumbent, and formed part of a handsome tomb near the Holy Table, lying under a canopy supported by two marble pillars.

Weever gives an epitaph on John ressy and his wife, Joan, but this has long since disappeared. The Cressys were related to Archbishop Cranmer, and it was at their house in the Romeland, a few yards from this place, that the famous discussion took place which led to the Reformation in this country.

The marble tomb at the north-west of the chancel is that of Robert Smith, a wealthy sea-captain, who died in 1697. On his tomb has been temporarily placed the bust of Justice Wollaston, of the time of the Commonwealth, whose signature was appended to the Contracts of Marriage on the ejection of the Clergy. Near this bust is the fragment of Harold's tomb, and a roughlyhewn figure of a dog, dislodged from the west front, and known as a Harehold—a play on the name of the founder.

On the west of the tomb stand the remains of a carved screen, probably brought from the ancient choir when it was destroyed.

There are only three old mural brasses in the church, and these are affixed to the south wall. One at the west

end serves as a memorial of Edward Stacy and Katherine his wife, died 1555 and 1565. Their son, Francis, is represented kneeling behind his father. The name of Edward Stacy heads the pension list of lay officers connected with the Abbey at the time of the Dissolution. The third name on the list is that of the famous Thomas Tallis, the father of English church music, and the organist of Waltham Abbey at that period.

On the east of this brass another bears the name of Thomas Colte, died 1559, and Magdalene his wife, died 1591. Their six sons and four daughters are also represented in the posture of devotion. Above the figures are three shields bearing the arms of the family. An amusing story, told by Dr. Fuller, shows how Sir Thomas Colte waylaid and caught a Waltham monk in a buckstall on the marsh, as the erring brother was returning from Cheshunt nunnery one dark night, and also how he presented him at Court in the morning

On the west of the south door is a much smaller brass in memory of Robert Rampston, of Chingford, a benefactor to this parish, who died in 1585. Colte's memorial brass was formerly attached to the floor of the church, whilst the other two were affixed to the pillars, which still bear traces of the disfigurement.

On the floor at the east of Captain Smith's tomb is a black stone with a brass plate to the memory of Henry Austin, who died in 1638. He was Gentleman of the Horse to James Hay, the Earl of Carlisle, the favourite of James I, who accompanied that monarch to London from Scotland on his accession to the throne.

On the third pillar from the east end on the south side, there are some interesting marks in the chevron ornament, indicating the existence of brass fluting in ancient times. This decoration is alluded to in the writings of the late Professor Freeman.

On the fourth pillar there are traces of the chain and desk to which were attached the great Bible of Henry VIII and Erasmus' Paraphrase.

The font, of Purbeck marble, is ancient, but it has lost its original shape and character.

The heads of the old Abbey church doors occupy a place near the entrance to the tower.

The ancient whipping-post and stocks, bearing date 1598, find a temporary refuge in the porch under the tower, whilst the more ancient pillory stands near the schoolroom opposite the church.

The Lady Chapel was restored by Mr. Burges, through the generosity of Sir T. Fowell Buxton, Bart., K.C.M.G., of Warlies Park, in this parish, and now GovernorGeneral of South Australia. An unsightly porch which stood in front of the building, and had served as a vestry, was removed, and a new robing-room erected at the north of the chancel. The beautiful Decorated windows, which had been partly bricked up and covered with plaster, were restored. Mr. Burges also discovered, on removing the plaster from the east wall, the remains of a medieval painting of The Doom, or Last Judgment. A copy of the painting, taken soon after the discovery, is preserved in the vestry.

The remains of the old piscina may still be seen in the south-east corner of the chapel; and traces of the old Norman windows appear on the north wall which originally formed the exterior of the south wall of the church.

The elegantly-carved screen which spans the large arch in this wall was erected by the parishioners in memory of their late vicar, the Rev. J. Francis, incumbent from 1846 to 1885, and the moving spirit in the restoration of 1859-60. It was designed by Mr. Reeve, the successor of Mr. Burges, and carved by Mr. Forsyth. Two angels exalting the cross—the arms of the ancient Abbey--are represented at the top of the screen. The communion rails were also designed by Mr. Reeve.

A few relics of the past have found a refuge in the Lady Chapel, and among them may be found :

1. The Old Clock, which served as the parish timekeeper from the days of Bishop Hall's incumbency, at the beginning of the seventeenth century until 1887, when an illuminated memorial clock, the present of J. Parnell, Esq., J.P., took its place.

2. The Carved Pulpit, which originally occupied a

[ocr errors]
[graphic][merged small]
« הקודםהמשך »