« הקודםהמשך »
Some Antiquities at Glastonbury and in the Cathedrals of Salisbury, Wells, and Winchester, 1711. By. S. G.
Account of a Journey made at Easter, 1720. By S. G.
Curious Memoranda relative to English and Foreign Antiquities. S. G. Letter from Mr. S. Gale to (probably) Dr. Stukeley.
Bishop Fleetwood to Mr. R. Gale.
The success of this Spalding Society led to the foundation of similar societies at Peterborough and Stamfordif not also at Doncaster and Boston. These continued but a short time, although the Peterborough Society (under Archdeacon Neve) occupied three volumes of manuscript with its minutes. These various societies interchanged their communications with those of the Spalding Society, whose minutes were also regularly transmitted to the Society of Antiquaries in London, and there duly read and acknowledged; the London Society of Antiquaries sending to Spalding its own publications, including prints, etc., for many years.
Still, it must never be forgotten that Maurice Johnson continued to the end of his life (obit. Feb. 7th, sepult. Feb. 11th, 1755, at Spalding) to be the mainstay of our Society. As long as he lived the Society flourished. The greater part of the communications were made by him, the minute-books, written in a variety of hands, were mostly by him, and the numerous illustrations are almost all of them his work. To the library he gave many of its most valuable books, and the museum owed much to his liberality. But, alas ! shortly after his death a change comes over the scene; the Society continued to meet weekly, and accounts of its weekly and yearly receipts and expenditure were duly kept ; but the minute-book ceased to be used, little or nothing was added to the library, the physic garden was given up, and the museum went to decay.
This state of affairs ruled for a period of about seventy years, when, upon the death of Dr. Johnson, his successor in the vicarage, Dr. Moore, was by the then members elected President in 1828. A few 'interesting essays now appear at long intervals in the minute-book Dr. Cammack and Canon Moore followed in his footsteps. During this period thirty-six meetings were held, the papers read between 1828 and 1889 appear to be nineteen in number, but have the advantage, as to several of them, of being entered in extenso in the minutebook (vol. vi).
PAPERS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS
Stukeley's paper relating to Threekingham.
scopal Registry at Lincoln relative to Moulton
“Multon." May 13,
Dr. Cammack gave Lecture on Locke.
Villages in Lincolnshire.
Bells at Cowbit, etc.
the Word “ Cheal ” in Gosberton, etc.
the Piers, etc., of Pinchbeck Church. Mar. 17, 1864. Dr. Cammack read brief memoranda relative to
Statistics and Sanitary Condition of Spalding
during the Last and Present Century. April 20, Memoir of John Richard Carter. Dec. 23, Memoir of Maurice Johnson by Rev. E. Moore. Nov. 22, 1867. Memoir of Dr. William Moore. Jan. 15, 1868. Rev. E. Moore read an account of the Restoration of
the Church and exhibited a number of Tokens,
offering his views of their original uses. Febr. 8, 1875. Memoirs of Dr. Cammack and Mr. James Speechly,
by Canon Moore.
Account of the Discovery of the Abbey Mill-race by
of about 600 acres of land from Fosdyke Wash.
During the latter portion of that time the library and museum were in a most filthy condition from accumulation of dust. Still, in fulfilment of Gale's prophecy, the library remained “a glorious monument of the public spirit and learning of its founder, and the record of a noble attempt which otherwise could scarcely be credited by posterity.”
No meeting having been held since April 26th, 1875— a period of fourteen years—thc few remaining members met on July 15th, 1889, and decided that an earnest effort should be made to revivify the Society. Dr. Perry was elected President, and a committee appointed. to consider the rules and report thereon. The President exhibited some Roman gold coins which had recently come into his possession ; Mr. Everard Green, F.S.A., presented pedigrees of several families ; Canon Marsden, who had been a member since 1828, presented his book, “Philomorus ;” and Mr. White, of Grantham, read a memoir of the late Canon Moore.
On Sept. 30th following the next meeting was held, a fresh set of rules, drawn up by the committee, adopted ; and a secretary, treasurer, and librarian appointed. Another paper read and works given to the library. The Society now got again into working order, and from that time quarterly meetings have been regularly held. The Society has itself purchased several books, and others have been given by its members ; donations to a small extent have been made to the museum ; a goodly number of interesting and instructive papers read and articles of antiquity exhibited; an annual excursion has taken place for the past six years. To the list of regular members seventy-one names have been added, and thirty-one honorary members have been elected. Total, one hundred and two names.
The following is a list of the papers recently read :
PAPERS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS
to S.G.S. from July 15th, 1889.
read by Dr. Perry. Nov. 4,
Major G. P. Moore reported Mr. Mortimer's (Brit.
Mus.) opinion on the horns exhibited at last meet
ing (Aug. 18) by Mr. W. Caulton.
Roman Remains from Peterboro' and Castor (ex-
of the Dialect of Lincolnshire and East Anglia in
the formation of Standard English. Jan. 27, 1891. Dr. Perry read a paper on the Saxon Coinage, illus
trated by specimens.
of the late drought.
and Holyrood House.
Geology of Crowland.
in respect of the Conservative Study of Local Anti
ing Portion of the Holbeach Register.
illustrative of the old belief in Witchcraft.
Missal belonging to S.G.S.
and its Villages of Pinchbeck, Moulton, and Weston
read by Mr. C. E. Bonner.
tance given in 1583, being half-year's rent for
Pompeii and Vesuvius.
April 19, 1892. Rev. Dr. Jessop sent, in a letter to the President, a
brief account of some Anglo-Saxon Remains in an
A.-S. Cemetery at Castle Acre. Aug. 11, Rev. R. Hollis read a paper on Bellarmine Pottery,
illustrated by several specimens. Oct. 26,
Dr. T. J. Walker read a paper on Anglo-Saxon
Remains in Eastern England, especially at Wood
stone. Febr. 6, 1893. Rev. J. R. Jackson read a paper on the Constables'
Accounts at Moulton, 1690-1750. May 2, Mr. A. S. Canham, paper, Notes on the History of
Crowland, its Charters and Crosses.
Preparation of Woad.
century book, which he styles “ Biblia in Rebus." Oct. 23, Mr. Hufton, paper on Plant Life, illustrated by
Mr. E. Green, paper on Poets Laureate. Febr. 2, 1894. Mr. G. E. Abbott, paper on Bimetallism.
Mr. T. H. Brogden, paper on Aquatic Birds of South
Lincolnshire, illustrated by specimens (reading con
cluded on Feb. 16th). April 25, Mr. E. Green, paper on a Royal Tournament, temp.
by specimens. July 24, Mr. E. W. Bell, paper on Microbes, with microscopic
illustrations. Mr. H. Watkinson, paper on Life and Teaching of
Socrates. Dec. 10, Mr. A. Harrison read report on a Littleport Court
Roll, by Mr. Martin (temp. Edw. II, A.D. 1267).
Rev. J. Č. Walter, paper on the Coritani. Febr. 11, 1895. Mr. Edward Tatam, paper on History of the River
Welland, descriptive of the difficulties of the Maintenance of its Efficiency in the Past, Present, and
Future. April 25, Mr. V. I. Allen, account of the removal of the old
railway bridge on the Holbeach Line. Mr. Wallace Watts, paper on Church Brasses, illus
trated by rubbings. Aug. 14, Mr. C. M. Hufton, paper on Rocks and Sands, with
ing played against the Spanish Armada. Rev. H. J. Green, paper on Mountsorrel Quarries,
and some Roman and other ancient remains found
in a well there.