תמונות בעמוד

Church and people, published through the enterprising instrumentality and personal labours of Mr. William Andrews, and the firm of publishers he represents. The subject of the first is well described in the title. In it Mr. Tyack-- already favourably known for his contributions to the literature of out-of-the-way subjects-continues his explorations in the region covered by the many ancient customs and traditions of the English Church. He starts with the building of the Church, and follows on from church steeple to churchyard lore, and then

up the nave to pulpit and lectern. He next deals with customs and folk-lore connected with holy baptism and marriage; and passing through the chancel and choir, he concludes with several amusing tales of customs connected with alms and almsgiving. Mr. Tyack is a man of wide though perhaps not deep reading; and while nothing that he writes is without its interest for the antiquary, the lightness of his touch and the lucidity of his style enhance the attractiveness of the book for the general reader. He has opened up some fresh veins in the well-worked seam of English popular superstitions; and we learn from him, as from many another to-day, the value of “folk-lore ” in teaching us the mental habit of our forefathers when the world was young. The book is adorned with numerous good illustrations of cathedrals and churches.

The second book--Curious Epitaphsby Mr. Wm. Andrews himself, is a reprint, with additions of a previous work on the same subject, published in 1883. In it, as its name implies, the many inscriptions on the graves in our churchyards, or on the tablets in our churches, which are remarkable for humour, or pathos, or quaintness, or in some cases sheer grotesqueness, are sorted and arranged and brought under their appropriate headings, e.g., Epitaphs on Tradesmen, or Soldiers and Sailors, cr Actors, on Sportsmen, or Sextons and Clerks, etc., as well as Typographical, Bacchanalian, and miscellaneous Epitaphs. All who know Mr. Andrews know what to expect, and need not be assured that he has done his work right well; while the jaded antiquary, weary of much study, may take the book down from his shelf, and feel that a smile will not detract from the seriousness of his labours.

Many of these epitaphs give one an unexpected insight into the manners and customs of our forefathers, as examples that might well be followed, or as warnings to be shunned: when we read, for instance, on the one hand, of faithful servants who remained in one service for the space of fifty, sixty, seventy, and in one unique case seventy-seven years. This last was “Mrs. Sarah Armison,”—for she deserves honourable mention—"who died in 1817, aged eightyeight years, seventy-seven of which she passed in the service of Mrs. Bell,” and is buried at Kempsey, Worcestershire; and on the other, of “Thos. Thetcher, a Grenadier, who died in 1764, of a violent fever, contracted by drinking small beer when hot,” and is buried in Winchester Cathedral yard. His comrades put up a stone to his memory, with the moral :

“Soldiers, be wise from his untimely fall,

And when ye're hot drink strong, or none at all.” We can picture the pleasant times enjoyed by the author, as he iotted down these epitaphs in his note-book amid the rural


of country churchyards, or the murky surroundings of some city church; and he deserves credit for the admirable manner in which he has arranged his collection. Of all those contained in this volume the shortest is the best. As a thoughtful writer says, if truth, perspicuity, wit, gravity, and every property pertaining to the ancient or modern epitaph were ever united in one of terse brevity, it was that made for Burbage the tragedian, in the days of Shakespeare :


[ocr errors]

A Catalogue Raisonné of the British Museum Collection of Rubbings from Ancient Sculptured Stones of Scotland. By CHRISTIAN MACLAGAN. (Edinburgh: D. Douglas, 1898.)-A few years ago, the authoress presented to the British Museum upwards of three hundred sheets of rubbings from the sculptured stones of Scotland ; and in the present work she gives an account of the method of their preparation, and some notes of the history and art which they illustrate. They form a goodly series, and the descriptions enhance their interest. One only represents the first class of the arrangement, a cup-marked” stone near Downe, in Perthshire; and one the second class, bearing "symbols and hieroglyphs." The third class, of “Oghams," and fourth class, of “Runes,” do not appear to be represented at all. But it is of the fifth class, of “Christian art," that the bulk of the work treats. This latter class is divided into five schools, viz., St. Ninian's, Iona, St. Andrew's, Arbroath, and Fearn-abbey, and excellent notices are given of the very miscellaneous examples in each section. The appendix or classified index at the end will be very useful. We wish more care had been taken with the Latin inscriptions on pp. 23 and 29. But that is a small matter. Some plates of the best examples would have added immensely to this catalogue's merits, which, as it stands, does the writer justice for the pains and time which must have been given to the formation of the collection. The historical remarks introduced into the text contain much that is new, or newly put, and they help us to understand some obscure points in the annals of Scotland.


Address, Inangural, 1
Alcock, Bishop, Lord President of Wales,

All Saiuts' Church, Stamford, visited, 73
Alwalton parish, ancient Meadow Book

of, 148
Ancient Fonts in Gower, 315
ANDREWS (Wm.), on Curious Epitaphs,

Anglo-Saxon Barrow, near Nuneaton,

Anglo-Saxon cemetery at Peterborough,

Annual Meeting, 200
A pethorpe Hall visited, 193
Appelby Court Rolls, 1368-69, 172
Archæology and Geography of the Fen-

land, the, 277
Arms, the right to bear, 257
ASTLEY (Rev. H. J. Dukinfield), de-
scribes Northborough, 191

on Northborough Church and
Manor House, 122

on the Dumbuck Cramnog, 197

reads paper by Miss Russell on
Vitrified Forts, 200

Mr. Capu Hughes on
Ramble in Devon, 353
ASTON (Mr. J. K.), exhibits many oly-

jects found during excavations at

Westminster, 93
Australian Legendary Tales, More, 362
Ayre, Sir Joll1, curate of Glinton, 153,


Barnac, south aisle, Early English work
in, 20

Norman work at, advanced cha-
racter of, 19

Tower, was it the work of Earl
Waltheof, husband of Judith ? 18

Geoffrey de, founds chantry in
church 1327, 19

line of Saxon roof, 14

long and short work in tower,
proof of Saxon date, 19

Haigh, Rev. D., his theory as to
tower, 17

reasons for doubting its truth, 24
sundial on south wall of tower, 14

seat in west wall, a Seat of
Judgment, 18

visited, shortly described by the
rector, 68
Bells, Wool Church, Dorset, 38
Biggin House, site of old monastery, 255

Ramsey, 253
Bigod, Roger, E. of Norfolk, 212
Birch (W. de Gray), Historical Notes

on the Manuscripts of Ramsey Abbey,

on Historical Notes on Ramsey
Abbey MSS., 92
Bishopston font, 316, 317
Book anctions in Eugland, 260
Bottle Bridge, church of St. Botolph at,

Bridge Fair, Peterborough, 334
Bronze weapons found in Fenland, 287
Brown, “ Capability,” destroys outbuild-

ings of Burghley House, 250
Browne, Mr. Robert, his name on second
bell, Barnac, 69

William, restores All Saints'
Church, Stamford, 1480 to 1490, 73
Brown's Hospital, Stamford, visited, 74
BRUSHFIELD (Dr.) exhibits curious pipe,

on the Dumbuck Cramnog, 197
Burghley House, 243

visited, 74

Lord, the builder of Burghley
House, 248
Bury, chapels against arches of tower,



Barnac, altar tombs in church, 23

Arch of Saxon date from tower
into church, 15

Argles, Canon, his gifts to church,

account of findings when
restoring tower, 16

Mrs., gives a new bell, 69
bells, inscriptions on, 68

Church, described by its rector,
Canon Syers, M.A., 13

consists of two manors, Barnac
and Pilgate, with Southorpe, 19

Whitstones, Franciscus, his fine
monument iu choir, 21

[blocks in formation]

COWPER (H. S.), History of Hawkshead,

Cresset Stone, Wool Church, Dorset, 37
Cromwell, Oliver, disputed accounts of
his burial, 136

his widow, true date of her death,
Culprits whipped at the cart's tail at

Peterborough, 339
CUMING (H. Syer), on Pin-lore and the

Waxen Image. 161, 198
Curious epitaphs, 365

on, 88

Cardyke, account of, 61
“ Cartularium Monasterii de Rameseia,”

published in Rolls Series, 233
Castle or Mayor House of de la Mare
family and Claypoles, 129

of Maxey, document decided in,
Castles, Roman town, so locally known,

Roman crossing at, 53
Castor, Roman pottery at, 53

Church, ancient painting inside
chest at, 149

visited, fresco paintings in, 71
Catalogue of objects lent for local exhibi.
tion, 89

Raisonné of rubbings from Monu.
mental stones in Scotland, now in

British Museum, 367
Cattle-brands (4) seen at Maxey, 191
Charters of Ramsey in British Museum,

Cheriton font, 316, 318, 322
Chester, church of St. John Baptist, 264
Christmas customs, Peterborough, 337
Chronology, Egyptian, 363
Churchyard cross at Castor described, 71
Claypole, Mrs. E., portrait of, presented

to rector, 133
Claypoles at Maxey, 119
Clement, Mr. John, lists of epitaphs, 141
CLINCH (Geo., F.G.S.), Notes on Old

English Churches, 271
Coat-armour, first used, 257
COLLARD (A. 0.), exhibition by, 352
COLLIER (Mrs.), exhibits drawings on
Reindeer horus from Perigord, 91

exhibits engravings of brasses
from Brundish Church, Suffolk, 95

exhibits rare vol.. A History of
the Gospel," seventeenth certury, 204

exhibits curious Nutmeg-grater,

Paperon Chateaux of France, 205
COMPTON (C. H.), reads second part of
paper on History of Welsh Marches, 93

on the Welsh Marches, 300

reads paper on Recent Discoveries
at the Tower of London, 351
Connington Church visited, 184
Cotterstock, Lord Melville's residence,

visited, 194
“ Cottonian and Harleian Collections,"

what in them refers to Ramsey, 235
Court of Ludlow, abolished 1689, 313
Court Rolls, plea for preservation of, 171

Dack (C.), exhibits examples of Valen-

tines of early part of present century,

on Old Peterborough Customs,

paper by, on Old Peterborough
Customs, 199

reads a paper on Peterborough
Gentlemen's Society (1730), 74

recounts History of Gentlemen's
Society of Peterborough, 141
DAY (Mrs.), exhibits drawings and en-

gravings of St. Magnus Cathedral,
Orkney, 95

exhibits V. Lunardie's First
Aerial Voyage in England, 1784, 205
Derbyshire Brasses, 272
De Barnac, Geoffrey, founds chantry of

Barnack in 1327, 19
De la Mare, family of, at Northborough,

Brian, owns manor, 1219, 123
Henry, builds castle, 1340, 130

Peter, holds it of Peterborough
Abbey for two knights' fees, 123

Geoffrey, marries granddaughter
of Chief Justice Scrope, 123
DONNELLY (W. A.), reads paper on Pre-
historic Remains, Clyde Valley, 196

ou Cramnog at Dumbuck, 196
Dorchester, Roman pavement found, 216
Dover Town, Castle, and Port, 357
DUNBAR (Sir A. H.), Bart., on Scottish

Kings, 260
Durobrivae, Roman name of Castor, 52

Edward the Confessor's Grant of Fisker-

ton, exhibited, i53
Egyptian Chronology, 363
Eleanor, daughter of Raymond, Earl of

Provence, 211, 213
Elizabethan chalices (2) at Maxey seen,

Embroideries, remarkable, in St. John's

Church, Peterborough, 86
Eolithic Age, no evidence of in the Fens,

paper on, 353
Essex Church tower, 209

[ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors]

Glinton Church, 222

fiue piscina in vestry, 226
Lady Chapel, 226
monuments in churchyard, 227

account of part supposed Saxon,

registers commence, 1567, 227
singular height of spire, 228

endowments at, population, 223 ;
fabric fund, 225
Gotch (J. A., F.S.A.), reads paper on

Burghley House, 74, 243
GOULD (J. C.), exhibits rim of Romano-
British vase from Chigwell, Essex, 93

on Vitrified Forts, 200
Gower, ancient fonts in, 198, 315
Greenway, Thomas, of Darby, artist of

Whitstone's Franciscus Tomb, in Bar-

nack church, 21
Grimsdale (Mr.), sends photographs of

hand mill-stones dug up at Uxbridge

Guildhall Porch, City of London, 351

Hants, History of, by Rev. Robt. Smythe,

Hawkshead, History of, 360
Haynes, J., makes plan of Burghley,

1755, 250
Helpstone Church visited, ancient re-

mains and tiles seen, 188
Henry, King (III), 200
HOPKINS (Percy), describes Glinton

Church, 222
HORNBLOWER (Mr.), exhibits Roman

cameos dug up Worship Street, 205
Hospital (Latham's) at Oundle, founded

1597, 29
HUGHES (Cann), Paper by, on a Ramble

in Devon, 353
HUGHES (Prof. T. McKenny M.A.,

F.S.A.), on the Archaeology, etc., of the
Fenland, 277

Ilston Font, 316, 317, 322
Inaugural address,
Ivone, Johannis de Sancto, Prior of

Peterborough, his inscription, 1512, 42


Lach-Szirma (Rev. W. S.), Paper by,

* Ancient British Costume," 95
Latham, Nicholas, incumbent of Barn-
well, 30

Fairfax and Harrington, arms of, found

at Maxey Vicarage, 118
FalkNER (J. M.), History of Oxfordshire,

Fens, The, lecture on, by Professor

McKenny Hughes, 94
Fenland, Archæology and Geography of,

- in Saxon Days, 295
Ferrar family, arms of, 258

Nicholas, his life, 4, 275
Fireplace, richly carved, seen at Wood.

stone, 192
FISHER (J.), exhibition by, 353
FISHWICK (Lt.-Col., F.I. A.), History of

Preston, 273
FLEAY (F. G.), on Egyptian Chronology,

Fletton Church visited, and Early work

Folk-lore, classic and mediaval, 362
Font, Wansford Church, elaborately
carved, 71

Wool Church, Dorset, 36
Fonts in Gower :-

Bishopston, 316, 317
Cheriton, 316, 318, 322
Ilston, 316, 317, 322
Llandewi, 316, 317, 322
Llangenydd, 316, 319
Llanmadoc, 316, 320
Nicholaston, 316, 319
Oxwich, 316, 319
Oystermouth, 316
Penmaen, 321, 322
Pennard, 316, 322
Penrice, ?16, 320, 322
Porteynon, 316, 322
Reynoldston, 316

Rhossili, 316, 317, 319
FOSTER (W. E.), Plea for Preservation of
Manorial Court Rolls, 83, 171

- on Plundered Ministers, 271
Fotheringhay visited ; Mr. Townsend de-

scribes it, 193
FRYER (Alfred C., M.A.), An Account of
Wool Church, Dorset, 35

paper by “ On Ancient Fonts in
Gower" (14), 196

on Ancient Fonts in Gower, 315

Hospital, 29
Lawler, Johu, on book auctions, 260
Letters of John Ferrar and Nicholas

Ferrar, 181
Lincoln's Inn, landmark, 266
Little Gidding, Story Books of, 275

visited, 180
List of Claypoles, 134
Llandewi font, 316, 317, 322

Garway, rubbings of incised designs on

Templar's Chapel at, 204
Gentlemen's Society of Peterborough,
founded August 26th, 1730, 141

Laws of, 143
Glatton Church visited, 179

« הקודםהמשך »