« הקודםהמשך »
astica of Pope Nicholas IV, where it is described as “ Ecctia de Landymor,” and valued at £5 a year.
Llangenydd is purely a Welsh word, and means the church of St. Cennydd. This distinguished man had received his education under Iltyd at Llantwit Major, and founded a similar Bangor in West Gower, and another at Senghennyd (Caerphilly), which appears to have been destroyed by the Saxons.
The present church of Llangenydd dates from the thirteenth century, but this fine font is evidently much older. The font had been covered with many coats of whitewash, and when this was scaled off, some simple stencilling in red and black came to light upon the sides of the stone.?
Near Llangenydd is Rhos-sili, which literally means the briny moorland. The two places were intimately united in early days, for the original church was built by St. Fili, a disciple of St. Cennydd, and even now both churches are served by the same parish priest.
Like many of the Gower churches, Rhossili belonged to the quasi-religious order of St. John of Jerusalem, and appears to have been given to them in the early part of the thirteenth century by William de Turberville. Rhossili possesses a fine Norman doorway, and doubtless the grand old font dates from the same period.
The font at Oxwich is made out of a block of limestone, but it has been so chipped and knocked about that it is now difficult to be certain of its exact shape.
When Nicholaston was rebuilt, the font was removed, and it was found that the stem was partially buried in the floor. The interesting fact then came to light that it was manufactured out of a large block of stalagmite.3 This, however, is not unique, as the font of Reynoldston
1 The church was burnt in 986 by the Danes. It remained in ruins until 1100, when it was rebuilt. Caradoc of Llancarvan hermit here when it was a ruin, and it was consecrated by Bishop Herwald, and he died in 1104. It is not unlikely that the present font was made for this church about A.D. 1100.
2 Mr. W. W. Goddard's copy of this stencilling may be seen in the Rev. J. J. Davis's History of West Gower.
3 See History of West Gower, vol. iv, p. 405.